SCCA Pro Racing


Series Staff

SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am Series Makes First 2010 Trip North of the Border to Mosport

May 22, 2010 - BOWMANVILLE, Ontario, Canada - For the 26th time since 1976, the SCCA Trans-Am Series will take on the ultra-fast and challenging 2.459-mile, 10-turn circuit at Mosport International Raceway this Sunday at 3 p.m. ET to close out the weekend festivities at the Victoria Day Speedfest.

Tomy Drissi at New Jersey.

Legendary Trans-Am racers such as Scott Pruett, Ron Fellows, Dorsey Schroeder, Scott Sharp and Paul Gentilozzi have all celebrated Trans-Am victories at Mosport, as have many others, and all of the drivers in this weekend’s field will be looking to add their names to that illustrious list.


Tomy Drissi at New Jersey.

Tomy Drissi at New Jersey.

Leading the series into its first of two trips north of the border this season (the other will come as part of the Honda Indy Toronto on July 17) is defending series champion Tomy Drissi of Hollywood, Calif. Drissi got his 2010 season off to a great start in the season opener at New Jersey Motorsports Park two weeks ago with his third career Trans-Am victory. This weekend, he looks to make it two in a row aboard the No. 5 THE A TEAM: THERE IS NO PLAN B Jaguar XKR for RSR.

It won’t be a cakewalk for Drissi, though, as there will be plenty of drivers who are hungry to win at Mosport. RJ Lopez, of Bal Harbour, Fla., came home second to Drissi in New Jersey and appears to be poised for a breakthrough victory in Trans-Am competition. He will once again drive the No. 6 1/Goodyear Chevrolet Corvette for Lopesport Racing.

Tony Ave is consistently one of the quickest drivers in Trans-Am competition, which he proved once again by taking pole position in New Jersey two weeks ago ahead of a third-place race result. However, the racer from Maiden, N.C. is still looking for his first career Trans-Am race victory and would love to get it on Sunday in the No. 4 Tony Ave Racing/Pro Motor Engines Chevrolet Corvette.

Another driver to watch is Drissi’s RSR teammate, Daniel Ramoutarsingh, of Trinidad, in the No. 8 Trinrico Steel & Wire Products Jaguar XKR. Ramoutarsingh, who won the 2009 Trans-Am Series Rookie of the Year, opened his second year of competition with a fourth-place ride at New Jersey.

This weekend’s field will feature a trio of Canadian drivers in Blaise Csida, of Stouffville, Ontario, Greg Clifton of Toronto and Kenny Wilden of Oakville, Ontario. Csida finished sixth in last year’s Trans-Am race at Mosport and will once again pilot the No. 07 BC Race Cars Chevrolet Corvette, while Clifton is entered for his first-ever Trans-Am race in the No. 56 Clifton & Associates Chevrolet Camaro.

Wilden, meanwhile, is returning to Trans-Am competition this weekend for the first time since 2002 aboard the No. 99 Derhaag Motorsports Chevrolet Corvette. Wilden owns one career Trans-Am victory, which came in 2000 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, and has raced in two previous Trans-Am events at Mosport with a best result of seventh in 1996.

Wilden is part of a two-car entry from Derhaag Motorsports and he will drive alongside full-timer Simon Gregg, of Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. Gregg is entered in the No. 59 Derhaag Motorsports Chevrolet Corvette and heads into Sunday’s race looking to build on his season-opening sixth-place result in New Jersey.

Elmer Shannon, of San Francisco, Calif., will also be making his first Trans-Am Series start of the season in the Team Shannon No. 27 Spectra Holdings/Gateway Racing/Eatmon Racing Engines Chevrolet Corvette. Shannon also competed in last year’s race at Mosport and came away with a 12th-place result.



Event/Circuit: Victoria Day Speedfest, Mosport International Raceway, 10-turn, 2.459-mile road course

Qualifying: Sunday, May 23 at 11:15 a.m. (EDT)

Green Flag: Sunday, May 23 at 3:00 p.m. (EDT)

Race Length: 37 laps (90.983 miles)

Timing/Scoring: Live Timing & Scoring is available for all sessions though

Track Records:

Qualifying Lap:1:17.744 (113.866 mph) by Butch Leitzinger in 2002.

Race Lap:1:18.312 (113.040 mph) by Klaus Graf in 2009

Average Speed:110.683 mph by Klaus Graf in 2009

Margin of Victory

Previous Winners:

1976 – Ludwig Heimrath (Class II), John Huber (Class I)

1977 – Ludwig Heimrath/Paul Miller (Class II), Bob Tullius/Brian Fuerstenau (Class II)

1978 – Greg Pickett (Class II), Bob Tullius (Class I)

1979 – John Paul (Class II), Gene Bothello (Class I)

1981 – Bob Tullius

1984 – Paul Miller

1985 – Wally Dallenbach Jr.

1986 – Scott Pruett

1987 – Scott Pruett

1988 – Darin Brassfield

1989 – Ron Fellows

1990 – Dorsey Schroeder

1991 – Scott Sharp

1992 – Scott Sharp

1993 – Scott Sharp

1994 – Scott Pruett

1995 – Dorsey Schroeder

1996 – Paul Gentilozzi

1997 – Tommy Kendall

1999 – Brian Simo

2000 – Brian Simo

2001 – Paul Gentilozzi

2002 – Boris Said

Previous Pole Winners:

1976 – Carl Shafer (Class II), Bob Tullius (Class I)

1977 – Peter Gregg (Class II), Bob Tullius (Class I)

1978 – Ludwig Heimrath (Class II), Bill Adam (Class I)

1979 – John Paul (Class II), Frank Joyce (Class I)

1981 – Tom Gloy

1984 – Willy T. Ribbs

1985 – Wally Dallenbach Jr.

1986 – Pete Halsmer

1987 – Scott Pruett

1988 – Ron Fellows

1989 – Dorsey Schroeder

1990 – Tommy Kendall

1991 – Scott Sharp

1992 – Scott Sharp

1993 – Scott Sharp

1994 – Tommy Kendall

1995 – Ron Fellows

1996 – Tommy Kendall

1997 – Tommy Kendall

1999 – Brian Simo

2000 – Paul Gentilozzi

2001 – Paul Gentilozzi

2002 – Butch Leitzinger

2003 – Scott Pruett

2009 – Jorge Diaz Jr.

All material and Images, unless otherwise specified, are ©2010 SCCA Pro Racing